Frequently Asked Questions

Old Dutch products vs. Homemade preparations

Can I use a homemade preparation (e.g. baking soda and hot water) for cleaning?

Yes, you can. However, homemade cleaning products are generally not as efficient as commercially formulated products, and using them often requires extra effort and time spent cleaning. Commercially formulated products undergo extensive safety and performance tests before they are marketed.

Homemade cleaners may also use more products and more hot water to get the job done than commercially formulated products, which can mean extra costs. For example, cream of tartar, which is sometimes recommended as a metal cleaner, is 12 times more expensive per unit weight than a commercial aluminum cleaner.

In addition, studies have shown that most home recipes have no disinfectant properties. This is particularly important when there are health-related reasons for using an antibacterial household cleaning product, such as on cutting boards that might be contaminated with Salmonella or on a surface that has been in contact with someone who is sick. Only disinfectants approved by Health Canada have been tested for their ability to kill germs.

Mixing products

Can I mix two or more household cleaning products for better results?

Unless specifically indicated on the product label, it is not recommended to mix household cleaning products. Ingredients in cleaning products may cause a chemical reaction that can release harmful or unpleasant substances.

Asthma and allergies

How can household cleaners help Canadians suffering from allergies or asthma?

Many things can trigger an asthma attack, including common allergens such as pet dander, dust mites, mould, mildew and pollen. Some people get symptoms from only one allergen, while others can be affected by more than one. Household cleaning, as part of an effective allergen management plan, can help control these allergens and is one of the easiest steps in reducing allergies or asthma attacks.

Animals

Are Old Dutch products tested on animals?

It is a long-standing company policy that none of our products are tested on animals under any circumstances.

Biodegradability

What is it?

Biodegradability is the ability of a substance to break down by the action of microorganisms; a biodegradable product is less likely to harm the environment.

Although, in absolute terms, this characteristic can apply to most known substances, according to an internationally recognized and accepted standard, a product is only considered biodegradable if it is likely to break down by the action of microorganisms in precise conditions and within a determined period. Certain internationally recognized organizations, such as the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, OECD, have developed and published methods to determine whether a substance can be classified as biodegradable. Therefore, to be considered biodegradable, a substance must have been submitted to a universally recognized method for determining biodegradability and a reference to the method used must accompany the product declaration.

What about Old Dutch products?

Old Dutch products with the “biodegradable” logo on the label have been tested according to this norm by an independent laboratory and have passed all the tests.

Accordingly, Old Dutch products comply with OECD 301D test norms, which stipulate that a substance is considered biodegradable if 60% of it biodegrades within 28 days. Therefore, this is a fairly reliable indication that complete decomposition is not too far in the future. Old Dutch products are biodegradable at a rate of 60% or more within 28 days; this varies from product to product.

Foire aux questions

Produits Old Dutch vs mélange maison

Peut-on utiliser un mélange maison (ex : bicarbonate de soude et eau chaude, ou encore vinaigre ou borax) pour nettoyer?

Oui, bien sûr. Toutefois, comme les produits nettoyants maison ne sont en général pas aussi efficaces que les produits nettoyants formulés dans le commerce, leur utilisation exige souvent des efforts supplémentaires et plus de temps consacré au nettoyage. Les produits nettoyants formulés dans le commerce subissent des évaluations approfondies quant à leur innocuité et à leur rendement, avant d’être mis en marché.

Les consommateurs qui font usage de produits nettoyants maison doivent peut-être utiliser une plus grande quantité de produit et d’eau chaude pour faire le travail, ce qui risque d’ajouter au coût. Par exemple, la crème de tartre, dont l’emploi est parfois recommandé pour nettoyer le métal, coûte 12 fois plus cher par unité de poids qu’un nettoyant pour l’aluminium en poudre du commerce.

En outre, des études ont montré que la majorité des produits maison n’ont aucune propriété désinfectante, surtout quand il existe des raisons afférentes à la santé pour utiliser un nettoyant désinfectant ménager, par exemple pour nettoyer une planche à découper risquant d’avoir été contaminée par la salmonelle ou une surface qui a été en contact avec une personne malade. Seuls les désinfectants approuvés par Santé Canada ont été évalués quant à leur capacité de tuer les germes.

Mélange de produits

Peut-on mélanger deux ou plusieurs produits de nettoyage afin d’obtenir de meilleurs résultats?

À moins d’indication spécifique sur l’étiquette du produit, il n’est pas recommandé de mélanger deux ou plusieurs produits de nettoyage ensemble, car une réaction chimique pourrait avoir lieu entre les composantes de nettoyants mélangés, amenant la création de sous-produits nocifs ou indésirables.

Asthme et allergies

Comment les nettoyants domestiques aident-ils les Canadiens souffrant d’allergies et d’asthme?

Bien des éléments peuvent provoquer une crise ou un épisode d’asthme, notamment des allergènes courants (tels que les squames animales, les acariens, les moisissures et le pollen). Certaines personnes sont sensibles à un seul allergène, d’autres à plusieurs. Dans le cadre d’un plan efficace de gestion des allergènes, le nettoyage aide à les éliminer et constitue l’un des moyens les plus faciles de réduire les symptômes d’allergies ou d’asthme.

Animaux

Est-ce que les produits Old Dutch sont testés sur des animaux?

Nous avons comme politique d’entreprise depuis toujours de ne pas tester nos produits sur les animaux en aucune circonstance.

Biodégradabilité

Qu’est-ce que c’est?

La biodégradabilité est la capacité d’une substance à se décomposer par l’action de microorganismes.

Bien que, dans l’absolu, cette caractéristique puisse s’appliquer à la grande majorité des substances connues, selon la convention mondialement reconnue et acceptée, un produit n’est considéré biodégradable que s’il est susceptible de se décomposer par l’action de microorganismes dans des conditions précises et à l’intérieur d’une période déterminée. Certaines organisations reconnues internationalement telle l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économique (OCDE) ont développé et publié des méthodes selon lesquelles une substance pourrait être classée comme étant biodégradable. Par conséquent, pour être reconnue biodégradable, une substance doit avoir été soumise à une méthode universellement reconnue à laquelle la déclaration de biodégradabilité doit faire référence.

Et pour les produits Old Dutch?

Les produits Old Dutch qui portent la mention « biodégradable » ont tous été testés selon cette norme par un laboratoire indépendant et ils ont réussi tous les tests.

Par conséquent, les produits Old Dutch sont conformes à la norme 301D de l’OCDE stipule que lorsqu’au moins 60% d’une substance se biodégrade à l’intérieur de 28 jours, cette substance est d’ores et déjà considérée biodégradable puisque c’est une indication assez fiable pour affirmer que la décomposition totale n’est plus très loin. Les produits Old Dutch sont donc biodégradables à 60% ou plus à l’intérieur de 28 jours, selon le produit.